The extension BlueSpiceUserManager provides the visual interface for user administration.

About the User manager

Administrators can access the User manager in the Global actions menu under Management > Users (link to page Special:UserManager). It shows an editable list of all user accounts.

User manager page
User manager page

Create a user account

To create a user account:

  1. Click the "+"-button. This opens a dialog.
    Create a user account
    Create a user account
  2. Enter the user information in the dialog:
    • Username: must be unique and cannot contain special characters
    • Password and Confirm password: The password for the new user.
    • Email: The email address of the user (optional)
    • Real name: can be a duplicate of an existing user's real name (optional)
    • Enabled: if checked, user account is active
    • Groups: a user can be assigned to multiple groups. If no group is selected, the user belongs to the default group user.
  3. Click Done to create the user account.
Tip:If you do not want to provide the new user with a password that is known to you, you can create the user account via the page Special:CreateAccount instead. It is, however, not possible to assign a user group to the new account during account creation on that page.


Edit a user account

The tools for editing a user are shown in the table grid when hovering over or selecting the user from the list.

Edit a user account
Edit a user account
  • Key icon: change the password.
  • People icon: Assign groups to this user account.
  • Block icon: Disable/enable user account. Ein Benutzerkonto kann nicht gelöscht werden.
  • Wrench icon: edit email and real name
Tip:User groups can be set for multiple users at the same time by selecting the users and clicking on the "groups" icon above the grid. This resets the groups for the selected users and assigns the newly chosen groups.


Inactive users

By default, the list displays users with active user accounts (enabled).

To view inactive users:

  1. Click on the table header (any column).
  2. Select "Columns", then select "Enabled". This will add additional column "Enabled" to the grid.
  3. Click on the header of this column and select Filter > Show all deactivated users.
Note:User accounts cannot be deleted. They can only be disabled.


Related info

Discussions

Attachments