What is BlueSpicePrivacy?
BlueSpicePrivacy enabled every user on the wiki to control the way their data is collected and used by the wiki
Upon first visiting the wiki, every user, anonymous or registered will be presented with a promt to accept the cookies that the wiki collects. User is given a quick option to accept all cookies, or to manage each group of cookies separately. This can be done by opening "Cookie consent settings" by clicking on the button in the prompt. There are several groups of cookies, based on the function they perform:
- Necessary cookies - cookies that are needed for the user to be able to use the wiki (cookies for keeping session information, user ID data ...)
- Convenience cookies - cookies that enable more comfortable wiki experience (saving the state of components of the interface, some user preferences...)
Accepting (at least necessary) cookies is mandatory before entering the wiki for the first time.
Cookie settings can be changed afterwards at any point, by clicking on "Change cookie consent" in footer links or on
Privacy center is the hub for user's privacy settings. It is located in user personal menu (clicking on user image in the top right corner) or by navigating to
This special page consist of a number of "modules", each performing certain privacy-related function
In this section users can anonymize their account on the wiki. This means that users can change their username on the wiki, and the new username will appear everywhere where their username is used on the wiki, including comments, page histories, logs... All of the traces of previous user information including profile information, profile data, etc. will be removed or renamed. In order to anonymize their account, user should pick the new username (random anonymized username is offered by default) and click "Anonymize my account". After confirmation, process of anonymization will start and user will receive a notification when its completed.
Delete your account
Users can delete all traces of their account from the wiki, by clicking "Delete your account" button. After confirmation, user account will be deleted. In case there is an error in the process, user will be notified of the failed deletion process. By deleting their account, users will remove all of the mentions of their user account anywhere on the wiki, with all their contributions being attributed to "Deleted user", which will appear instead of the original username.
This module allows users to view and export all data the wiki has on them. To only view the data, without exporting it, user can click on button "Show all data" which will open a dialog containing all of the data wiki has collected on the user. Data will be grouped into following groups:
- Mentions in content - snippents of the page content where user's name is mentioned
- Working data - data from the extensions - reminders that user have, page assignments...
- Personal data - profile data, personal information and user's status on the wiki
- Action data - log data for users actions - edits, page deletions, page moves, administrative actions...
To export the data, user can select groups (from groups mentioned above) to export and select the format (HTML or CSV). After selecting desired options, click on "Export data" to download the compiled file.
Wiki can be configured in a way, so that users are not allowed to directly execute certain actions, but that they need to request that operation first. Requesting actions applies to:
- "Delete your account"
Requests can be enabled for the wiki by settings
$bsgPrivacyEnableRequests = true; in
Once enabled, users will be presented with, in sections for Anonymization and account deletion, with a request form. There users can click "Request anonymization" and "Request account deletion" respectively. For account deletion, users can enter an optional comment explaining the reason for the request.
All the requests submitted will be presented to wiki admins to review.
Once users submit the request, every time they visit the Privacy Center (until the request is resolved) will see "Request pending" notice. If the request is denied, users will be notified and will be presented with a notice of request denied with a comment from the wiki administrator.
If the user's request is approved, they will be notified about this action.
Reviewing user requests
Wiki admins (users with "admin" role assigned) can access the Privacy Admin page located in left navigation, under tab "Global actions", under "Management" section or by navigating to
There, wiki admins can view the requests submitted by users and review them, approving or denying them.
Those actions can be taken by clicking on "check" or "block" icons in each request row, for approving and denying, respectively.
Reference page for this extension.